About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

March 30, 2011

The Radio Dept. "Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002-2010" and "Clinging To A Scheme" albums now available

"Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002-2010"

Swedish The Radio Dept. return with a double CD that serves equally perfect as a 'Best of' release for soon-to-be fans and a 'rarities' compilation for those already hooked. CD 1 has all the single A-sides including two NME 'Single of the week' hits, three tracks from Sophia Coppola's "Marie Antoinette" movie and numerous amazing tracks that have been ruling the blogosphere over the last years. CD 2 is a collection of B-sides; a long awaited must-have for the fans. All tracks taken from out of print releases and are previously unavailable on CD.

Disc One:
1. Why Won't You Talk About It? (from Lesser Matters)
2. Where The Damage Isn't Already Done (from Lesser Matters)
3. Annie Laurie (self-released CD-R EP)
4. Ewan (from Lesser Matters)
5. Pulling Our Weight (from the Pulling Our Weight EP released on Labrador)
6. This Past Week (from the This Past Week EP released on Labrador)
7. The Worst Taste in Music (from Pet Grief)
8. We Made the Team (online-only single released on Labrador)
9. Bachelor Kisses (from the Splendid Isolation compilation released on Friendly Noise Records)
10. Freddie and the Trojan Horse (from the Freddie And The Trojan Horse EP released on Labrador)
11. David (from Clinging to a Scheme)
12. Heaven's on Fire (from Clinging to a Scheme)
13. Never Follow Suit (from Clinging to a Scheme)
14. The New Improved Hypocrisy (online-only single released on Labrador)

Disc Two:
1. Liebling (b-side from Why Won't You Talk About It? single)
2. We Would Fall Against The Tide (b-side from Why Won't You Talk About It? single)
3. You and Me Then? (from the Where The Damage Isn't Done EP)
4. Peace of Mind (from the Where The Damage Isn't Done EP)
5. T├ąget (from the Annie Laurie EP)
6. Slottet"(b-side from Ewan single)
7. What You Sell (b-side from The Worst Taste In Music single)
8. Mad About The Boy (from the Are You Scared To Get Happy? compilation by Friendly Noise Records)
9. Closing Scene (from the Freddie And The Trojan Horse EP)
10. Messy Enough (b-side from David single)
11. The Idle Urban Contemporaries (b-side from David single)
12. All About Our Love (b-side from Heaven's On Fire single)
13. On Your Side (from the Never Follow Suit EP)
14. The One (from the Never Follow Suit EP)

"Clinging To A Scheme"

We’ve waited four long years for this brand new masterpiece, but a simple press on play and you’ll know it’s been worth every second. “Clinging To A Scheme” combines the best components from their previous albums “Lesser Matters” and “Pet Grief” with soul guitars, underground movie samples, P-funk, cut/paste-beats and '70s futuristic orchestra sounds. The Radio Dept. is often referred to as Sweden's most important indie pop band and was one out of only two Swedish bands on NME's 'Top 100 albums of the decade' list. The Sophia Coppola film 'Marie Antoinette' featured three songs by the band which further helped them to achieve worldwide recognition. Will certainly appeal to fans of Phoenix, Pet Shop Boys, My Bloody Valentine, The Cure, Saint Etienne, M83, Ariel Pink, Cut Copy, Slowdive and MGMT. Includes "Heaven's On Fire", "David", "Never Follow Suit" and more.

"Clinging To A Scheme" tracklist:
1. Domestic Scene
2. Heaven's on Fire
3. This Time Around
4. Never Follow Suit
5. A Token of Gratitude
6. The Video Dept.
7. Memory Loss
8. David
9. Four Months in the Shade
10. You Stopped Making Sense

No comments: