About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

January 30, 2011

2NE1 gets 2 nominations at 2011 Korean Music Awards

On January 25th, the “2011 Korean Music Awards” revealed the nominations for their awards ceremony. Korean Music Awards was created with the intent to treat pop musicians as artists, not as entertainers; consequently, this award focused more on their achievements instead of their sales. There are a total of 25 different categories, and nominations were made by a selection committee.

Popular K-pop girl group 2NE1 bagged two nominations. In the Best Dance and Electronic (Music), 2NE1’s “To Anyone” will be competing with Demicat’s “Tomorrow Sucks,” Byul’s “Pacific,” Kafka’s “The Most Beautiful Thing,” Casker’s “Tender” and House Rulez’s “Magic Television.”

2NE1’s “Can’t Nobody” is also nominated in the Best Dance and Electronic (Song) along with Miss A’s “Bad Girl Good Girl,” f(x)’s “Nu Abo,” Sultan of the Disco’s “Sunday Night Fever” and Kafka’s “Silence.”

Fellow YG artist, Big Bang's Taeyang was nominated in the Best R&B and Soul Album category. His “Solar” album will be competing with the albums of Deez, Boni, Brown Eyed Soul, and Jinbo. song “I Need A Girl” is also nominated in the Best R&B and Soul Song along with Deez’s “Sugar,” Boni’s “To Keep You,” Brown Eyed Soul’s “Never Forget” and Jinbo’s “U R.”

Last year, Girls Generation won the Song of the Year and Musician of the Year (Netizens’ Choice). Brown Eyed Girls bagged the Best Electronic Song and Album awards for “Abracadabra” and “Sound G.”

This year’s awarding ceremony will be held on Feb. 23.

At the “2010 Mnet Asian Music Awards” held this past November, 2NE1 won the ‘Album of the Year Award’ for 'To Anyone', ‘Female Group Award’, ‘Best Digital Single Award’ and the ‘Musical Award’, for a total of 4 distinctive honors. While at 2010 MMA (Melon Music Awards), 2NE1 won the ‘Album Award’ for 'To Anyone' and the ‘Melon Music Award Top 10.

Source: Allkpop+Manila Bulletin

No comments: