About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

February 27, 2011

Gregorian releases "Best Of 1990-2010"

Finally after 20 years of success, 10 albums, over 5 million records sold all over the world, a vast number of Gold and Platinum awards as well as worldwide Top 10 positions, Gregorian releases their first ever official Best Of album, made of their best classics and songs never released before.

Best Of Gregorian 1990-2010“ reflects 20 years of amazing success all over the world, combining not only the classics from “Masters of Chant“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter II“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter III“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter IV“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter V“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter VI“, “Masters Of Chant Chapter VII“ and “The Dark Side“. Besides the first German hit single “Moment Of Peace” as well as all time favourites of mastermind Frank Peterson, “Best Of Gregorian 1990-2010" also includes 7 previously unreleased songs with “Sadeness Pt.1” being the first ever world hit by Enigma (Frank Peterson’s first band) in a new Gregorian style. The opener “So Sad” is the first ever original Gregorian song, unavailable on CD for nearly 20 years – taken from the first ever released Gregorian album “Sadisfaction” (released by A&M in 1991), long way before the “Masters Of Chant” series started. “Forever Young” (Alphaville's hit) as well as “Missing” (Everything But The Girl's hit) were recorded during the “Masters Of Chant Chapter IV” sessions while “Let Down” (Radiohead's song) was recorded during the sessions of “Masters Of Chant Chapter V” and “Crazy Crazy Night” (Kiss' song) during the sessions of “Masters Of Chant Chapter VII”. All of those never released before will make the Best Of even better than usual Best Of albums you know from many other big artists.

This is a collection of songs which will exceed all expectations. A must have for all Gregorian fans to complete their selection and “the one to start with” for the new fans!

Gregorian is a project conceived by German music producer Frank Peterson, the same guy behind the multi-platinum success of Enigma and Sarah Brightman. His idea might have sounded strange, but it worked. A Gregorian choir sings modern pop-rock songs, arranged in the style of the chants sung by medieval monks. The first two Gregorian albums became international bestsellers, selling one million units each and reaching Gold status in a dozen countries including Germany, Belgium, Australia, South Africa, Portugal Singapore and the Philippines.

“Best Of Gregorian 1990-2010“ tracklist:
1. Best Of So Sad
2. Nothing Else Matters
3. Moment Of Peace
4. Voyage Voyage
5. Hymn
6. Join Me (Schiller Version)
7. The Raven
8. Angels
9. The Forest
10. Fix You
11. One
12. Sadeness Pt. 1
13. Forever Young
14. Missing
15. Let Down
16. Best of Sinners & Saints
17. Crazy Crazy Nights

Here's a sample of Gregorian's music, their rendition of Alphaville's hit "Forever Young":

We will announce album release date very soon!

No comments: