About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

February 23, 2011

After School "Bang!" and "Happy Pledis" albums. PH version to include Bonus DVD.

After School is a South Korean girl group under Pledis Entertainment. Top-billed as Korea's Pussycat Dolls, After School were the first who dared to bring unabashed sexiness to the girl group scene and are known for their enviable bodies and their powerful dancing skills. This group is styled after Japanese girl group Morning Musume in that it operates with a rolling ‘admission’ and ‘graduation’ system.

Debuting initially as a 5-member group (Kahi, Jung-Ah, Soyoung, Jooyeon, Bekah), they released debut single “AH” in January 2009. In April 2009, After School released a digital single titled “Diva” and introduced a new member Uee into the group, as part of After School’s admission and graduation concept. Later in November 2009, member Yoo Soyoung announced her withdrawal from the group and at the end of the same month, After School admitted two new members Raina and Nana into the group making After School a 7-member group. In March 2010, After School released their 3rd single, "Bang!" and added Lizzy as the 8th member. In December 2010, they introduced a 9th member, Noh Lee Young.

After School will soon be invading Japan with their Japanese debut coming this March. They also collaborated with Queen of J-Pop Namie Amuro's latest album.

After School now consists of Kahi, Jung Ah, Jooyeon, Bekah, Uee, Raina, Nana, Lizzy and Noh Lee Young. After School’s fans are officially called “Playgirlz”.

- Rookie of The Month Award at Cyworld Digital Music Awards 34th with ‘Diva’
- Best Style Icon Award at 2009 Korea Lifestyle Awards
- Mutizen Awards at SBS Inkigayo Episode 558, 559 & 562 with ‘Because of You’
- K-pop New Artist of the Year 2009 at Billboard Japan Music Awards 2009
- Rookie Award at 19th High1 Seoul Music Award

"Bang!" tracklist:

1. Let's Do It
2. Bang!
3. With U
4. Bang! (instrumental)
1. Bang! (music video)

"Happy Pledis" tracklist:

1. Love Love Love
2. Someone Is You
3. Love Love Love (instrumental)
4. Someone Is You (instrumental)
1. Love Love Love (music video)
2. Love Love Love Version 2 (music video)

1 comment:

Claire said...

Text ASB to 2728 to get After School's Bang CRBT! Text KPOP to 2728 to get a list of FREE KPOP Caller Ringtunes. :)