About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

December 18, 2010

Super Junior and 2NE1 win at 2010 Melon Music Awards

The 2010 Melon Music Awards was held on December 15th at the Hall of Peace in Kyunghee University, and many top K-pop artists were in attendance.

The awards show begun in 2009 and took its place as one of the big four music award ceremonies in South Korea, alongside Mnet Asian Music Awards, Golden Disk Awards, and Seoul Music Awards.

The awards ceremony is famed for calculating ONLY digital sales (80%) and online votes (20%) on Melon.com, and the final tally of those two factors will give the winners in the various categories.

Two of K-Pop's biggest acts, Super Junior and 2NE1 took home awards from the ceremony. Super Junior bagged the 2010 Netizen Popularity Award while 2NE1 got 2 awards - 2010 Most Popular Album and 2010 Top 10!  Here are the clips:

Super Junior "2010 Netizen Popularity Award":

2NE1 "2010 Top 10":

2NE1 "2010 Most Popular Album" for "To Anyone":

Below is the list of winners from this year’s show!

2010 Top 10
CN Blue
DJ Doc
Lee Seung Gi

2010 Artist of the Year

2010 Song of the Year
2AM - "Can't Let You Go, Even If I Die"

2010 Special R&B Song

2010 MBC+ Star Award - MBC+ Media Special Award
miss A

2010 Most Popular Album
2NE1- To Anyone

2010 Best Music Video Award - awarded to the director
Ga-In - "Irreversible" -- Hwang Su Ah (director)

2010 Best Trot Song
Jang Yoon Jung

2010 Most Popular Rap/Hip-Hop Song
Supreme Team - "ttaeng ttaeng ttaeng"

2010 Hot Trend Award

2010 Best OST Song
Lee Seung Gi - "Losing My Mind"

2010 Netizen Popularity Award
Super Junior

2010 Rookie of the Year
CN Blue

2010 Writer and Composer of the Year
Kim In-ah (writer) and Lee Min-soo (Composer)

2010 Best Alternative
Hot Potato - "Confession"

2010 MBC Radio Award
Jung Yeob - "Love You"/"Without You"

2010 Concert Award
PSY - "Right Now"

Posted by Casper @ Allkpop/Sylphid @ Soompi

No comments: