About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

November 13, 2009


World Champion Jed Madela releases his first ever Christmas album, "The Voice Of Christmas". The album was certified GOLD three weeks after its release. According to Jed, his Christmas album "displays the versatile side of me, it was the unusual arrangements of every piece that demanded me to interpret the songs with a new flavor." The 15-track album contains Jed's renditions of the classic Yuletide songs "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," "Give Love On Christmas Day," "It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year," "White Christmas," "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve," "The Christmas Song," "I'll Be Home For Christmas," "Merry Christmas Darling," and "Sana Ngayong Pasko". "I have been so used to hearing the song "Merry Christmas Darling" in a lullaby form. Mine was done in rhythm and blues...and I liked it! Also, "The Christmas Song" has a bossa feel...the big band in "White Christmas"...but my favorites in the album are "It's The Most Wonderful Time of the Year" and "O Holy Night" because of its classic sound," explains Jed.

The champion singer is deeply grateful to Jose Mari Chan for allowing him to record his version of the original piece, "A Perfect Christmas." Jed is also grateful to Regine Velasquez for doing a duet with him in the Christmas album for the song "My Grown Up Christmas List."

"The Voice of Christmas" has 15 cuts of classic Christmas songs that you never get tired of hearing year after year as we celebrate the holidays. Jed reminds the public, "We must not forget the reason why we are celebrating Christmas...our Lord Jesus Christ, who is the Real ‘Voice of Christmas.'"

The album comes with a Bonus Disc containing the Minus-One of all the 15 tracks!

1. Christmas Medley: Joy To The World/Good King Wenceslas/O' Come All Ye Faithful/Hark The Herald
2. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
3. A Perfect Christmas
4. My Grown Up Christmas List
5. O Holy Night
6. Give Love On Christmas Day
7. It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
8. White Christmas
9. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve
10. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
11. I'll Be Home For Christmas
12. Merry Christmas Darling
13. Sana Ngayong Pasko
14. White Christmas (Orchestral Version)
15. The First Noel

No comments: