About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

September 25, 2009

PEP.ph | Kenyo shows Bulacan pride thru sophomore album titled Maharlika

From being a vocalist of the band Orange and Lemons, Mcoy Fundales joined Pinoy Big Brother Celebrity Edition season 2, but surprised viewers later on when he voluntarily left the house.

After that, Mcoy came back to Universal Records and formed a new band called Kenyo, with his two former band mates in Orange and Lemons: Ace del Mundo (guitars) and JM del Mundo (bass guitars). Their group first released their debut album, a musical scrapbook titled Radiosurfing, last year that allowed their group to conduct a U.S. tour.

This 2009, Kenyo has released their second album titled Maharlika, and they were joined by two new band mates: Cleng Ocampo on guitars and Ariz Villalon on drum/percussions. Kenyo was coined from the Tagalog word Bulakenyo since all members of Kenyo are natives of Bulacan province. Ayon naman kay Mcoy, ang title raw ng album nilang Maharlika has a story behind it.

"I did some research in Bulacan Museum and I found out that Maharlika originated from four Tagalog terms. ‘Yung una po, Majer-Likha—it's a Malayan term that means "great piece of work." Tapos going back pa, meron pa siyang mas lumang Tagalong word na Mahar-Lika which means, beautiful creation at du'n naging Maharlika. Eventually modern [meaning] po natin is nobility, pero, ‘yun po talaga ang meaning niya."

Kuwento pa ni Mcoy, "Noong una po, we we're thinking about it. I asked for a sign kung ‘yun ba ang magandang title ng album namin na bago. Paglabas namin sa Universal Records, we saw a plate number na actually, it's a police officer or own by a Military officer natin, nakalagay Maharlika. And then, going home, I realized na dumadaan ako sa Maharlika Highway. So, all the signs are pointing. The signs we're there na Maharlika."

Mcoy recalls how their sophomore album was formed.

"Well, as you all know after Orange and Lemons, I went inside the Big Brother House. I was invited by the people who helped us din naman from ABS. So, I just can't say no, so, parang pahinga ko na ‘yun, retreat. I did that one.

"When I was inside the house, ‘yung magkapatid, they formed another band. When I got out of the house, nagkita ulit kami, siyempre, nandoon pa rin yung urge to play music and that's when we decided to form Kenyo. Then we had Ariz na pinsan po nila and Cleng who is from Bulacan din to play guitar. Para maiba rin sa Orange and Lemons, dapat lima na tayo ngayon para mas makapal din ang tunog.

"Tapos last year, nagkaroon kami ng project album, so, we decided to do two cover songs, ‘yung Sana and Ayoko Na Sa ‘Yo. It was Radiosurfing na more than a month lang naming na-record and it was released by UR [Universal Records].

"Pero ang hindi alam ng lahat, we were writing original songs na last year pa to a point po na we have enough materials to actually record two to three albums. So, we chose the 12 ones, to put in Maharlika. This is like our second album but if you ask us how we feel, this is our first talaga kasi, ito ‘yung original. Last year was a project album."

Ang description nila sa sound and music ng Maharlika ay, "para siyang kundiman na pinabigat. " May distortion pero ‘yung mga lyrics niya, parang Bulakenyo talaga. Kenyong-kenyo talaga the way it was written."

One of the original songs of the album is titled "Filipina." Si Mcoy raw ang sumulat ng kanta.

"Parang tribute ko po to all Filipinas here and abroad. When I was writing the song, nasa mall ako, e. Nakatambay ako. Parang dito ko lang nakita sa atin na may mestiza, may chinita, may morena, may mukhang Latina, they are all Filipinas, pero, lahat ng ganda na makikita mo globally, parang nasa loob lang ng MOA [Mall of Asia]. Parang nasa atin lang."

Another thing that makes this album special is their first collaboration with female artist Hi-C from Dice & K9. The result is the track titled "Simulan na Natin."

"It's a very sexy track. First time for us to do that kind of track and for me to sing with someone. And Hi-C is now appearing for Playboy magazine this month and we're very happy na she graciously invited to sing with us sa album. It's a very nice track. So, it open doors for future collaboration with other artists."

He's also looking forward to sing with other OPM artists like Rey Valera, Rico Puno, Jose Mari Chan. But what holding a reunion with his former band mates in Orange and Lemons?

"Ah, mas looking forward ako to sing with other artists," natawa niyang sabi.

1. Filipina
2. Tadhana
3. Hanggang Sa Muli
4. Simulan Na Natin
5. Wish On A Star
6. Kalayaan
7. Meantime Girl
8. Strong Man
9. Someone For You
10. Learn To Swallow
11. Alay Na Alaala
12. Hanggang Sa Muli (acoustic)

Here's a direct link to the article: 

No comments: