About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

October 8, 2010

Noel Cabangon bags major awards in 2010 Awit Awards including Album Of The Year!

Photo courtesy of Joel H. Garcia

Noel Cabangon bagged major awards in the recently concluded 23rd Awit Awards held last Thursday night (September 30, 2010) at SM Mall of Asia. Awit Awards is the longest-running award-giving body of the Philippines that gives recognition to Filipino musical talents, performing artists and producers, organized by the Philippine Association Of The Record Industry (PARI).

Noel won in the following categories in the Awit Awards 2010:
Album of the Year - "Byahe" by Noel Cabangon
Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist - "Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko" by Noel Cabangon
Best World Music - "Binibini" by Noel Cabangon
Best Song written for Movie/TV - "Ang Buhay Nga Naman" by Noel Cabangon for the film "Ded Na Si Lolo"

Gold-certified "Byahe" album features Noel's heartfelt rendition of OPM classics from the seventies and eighties plus 3 original tracks, including his collaborations with Chito Miranda of Parokya Ni Edgar and Aia De Leon of Imago. Produced by Noel Cabangon and Ito Rapadas, "Byahe" has been repackaged including 4 brand new tracks! Two of these tracks were songs performed during President Noynoy Aquino's Inaugration last June 30th. The new tracks include "Ako'y Isang Mabuting Pilipino" and "Ngayon (Tungo Sa Pagbabago)". Other additional tracks are "Simpleng Tao" and "Hanggang Mamatay"

"Byahe" tracklisting :
1. Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko (originally by Sharon Cuneta)
2. Tuloy Pa Rin (originally by Neocolours)
3. Binibini (originally by The Rainmakers)
4. Ang Aking Awitin (originally by Bong Gabriel)
5. Di Na Natuto (originally by Gary Valencian)
6. Ang Buhay Nga Naman
7. Kanlungan with Aia De Leon of Imago
8. Dito Sa Kanto with Chito Miranda of Parokya Ni Edgar
9. Kung Kailangan Mo Ako (originally  by Rey Valera)
10. Ipagpatawad mo (originally by VST & Company)
11. Pag-ibig (originally by APO Hiking Society)
12. Pinay (originally by Florante)
13. Tao (originally by Sampaguita)
14. Pagbabalik (originally by Asin)
15. Kay Ganda Ng Ating Musika (originally by Hadji Alejandro)

Bonus tracks:
16. Ako'y Isang Mabuting Pilipino
17. Ngayon (Tungo Sa Pagbabago)
18. Simpleng Tao
19. Hanggang Mamatay

Preview "Byahe" album here:

"Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko" music video:

Join Noel Cabangon's Facebook Fanpage:

No comments: