About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

April 2, 2010

Girls' Generation scores another #1 album!

Girls' Generation are unstoppable ! Their latest album "OH!" debuted at the NUMBER ONE spot in the country's BIGGEST record retail chain, ODYSSEY (with more than 80 stores nationwide!) only after 3 days of release in the market! The chart is based on the total sales tabulated from all Odyssey record stores from March 15 to 21, 2010.

This is the SECOND NUMBER ONE for the HOTTEST K-Pop girl group after their "Genie" mini-album, which also debuted straight to the number one position in Odyssey last year (October 2009)! The first single "Oh!' also charted NUMBER ONE on MYX countdowns few weeks ago, and is still a Top 5 music video on MYX HIT CHARTS & MYX INTERNATION TOP 20!

Last week, it also debuted at #1 position in MUSIC ONE album chart.

On March 20th, Girls' Generation fans in the country showed their support and devotion for Girls' Generation when they trooped to three of the country's largest record retail chains - Astroplus Mall Of Asia, Music One Greenbelt and Odyssey Megamall, to celebrate the release of "Oh!" CD. Their effort paid off and this is an evidence that Girls' Generation is going to take over the hearts of Pinoy music fans!

Girls Generation is a nine-member all-girl group that debuted in 2007 and is composed of Taeyeon, Yuri, Yoona, Jessica, Tiffany, Hyoyeon, Sooyoung, Seohyun, and Sunny. They dominated 2009 with their mega hits "Gee" and "Genie" and now they're setting off a whole new K-pop craze with their second full-length album "Oh!". Created by hit songwriter Kenzie, the title dance song is an electro-pop exclamation with sweet lyrics about confessing love. The girls present a variety of song styles in the 12-track album, which includes "Boys & Girls" featuring SHINee's Key as well as "Gee"and "Genie".

Initial interest in the album was high, as physical and online pre-orders of the album totaled 150,000 copies. On its first day of sale, "Oh!" sold 30,000 copies. The carrier single “Oh!” also topped various music charts in Korea when it was released on January 25. These included Monkey 3, Melon, Bugs, Cyworld Music, and Lunch Box.The girls have been riding on a wave of success since making a comeback with their Oh! single and their hard work has paid off with 5 Music Bank K-Chart trophies thus far and a Mutizen triple crown for Inkigayo. First Press Limited Edition comes with a special photo card (1 of 9 randomly selected designs).

Universal Records is already gearing up for the release of "Run Devil Run - The Second Album Repackage" CD. MYX has just premiered their "Run Devil One" music video and expect another #1 for the girls !Watch out for detail soon.

"Oh!" track listing:
1. Oh!
2. Show! Show! Show!
3. 뻔&Fun(Sweet Talking Baby)
4. 영원히 너와 꿈꾸고 싶다(Forever)
5. 웃자(Be Happy)
6. 화성인 바이러스(Boys & Girls) feat.Key of SHINee
7. 카라멜 커피(Talk To Me)
8. 별별별(☆★☆)
9. 무조건 해피엔딩(Stick Wit U)
10. 좋은 일만 생각하기(Day by Day)
11. Gee
12. Genie

No comments: