About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

May 2, 2009


Universal Records finally releases Kamikazee’s much-anticipated third album "Long Time Noisy" featuring the launching single “Wala”. "Long Time Noisy" is Kamikazee’s follow-up to their Double Platinum breakthrough album "Maharot", which was jumpstarted by the crossover radio hit “Narda”. The album also spawned hits such as “Martyr Nyebera” and “Seksi Seksi”. The band also came up with hits such as the Parokya Ni Edgar collaboration “The Ordertaker” and their rendition of APO Hiking Society's "Doo Bidoo”, which made the compilation tribute album "Kami nAPO Muna" one of the highest-selling albums in recent memory. Kamikazee’s longtime hard efforts finally paid off, making them one of the most in-demand rock bands in the live circuit, a multi-awarded band (winning NU107 Rock Awards as Listeners’ Choice and Song of the Year for “Narda”, for starters) and commercial endorsers for high-profile products such as Rexona and Smart.

The band took three long years to construct and record "Long Time Noisy" as the band balanced their grueling gig schedules and their serious desire to release the best album they can possibly come up with. And they did exactly that with their new album. The album was recorded at Tower of Doom studios with producer Eric Perlas (whose credits include The Out of Body Special Love Is…, Queso and Chicosci’s last albums) and includes collaborations with keyboardist Leo Saño of Corporate Lo-Fi, turntablist Biboy Garcia of Sinag and Queso, Maychelle Baay of Moonstar88, Ian Tayao of Queso, Reg Rubio of Greyhoundz and Chito Miranda of Parokya ni Edgar.

No comments: