About Universal Records

My photo
Quezon City, Philippines
Universal Records is the NUMBER ONE independent record label in the Philippines. Bringing you quality music for the past 30 years, we are home to artists like: Jose Mari Chan, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Jed Madela, Christian Bautista, Jay R, Billy Crawford, Kris Aquino, Edu Manzano, Marian Rivera, Mark Herras, Nina, Ronnie Liang, Gail Blanco, Sam Concepcion. Our band roster includes: Parokya Ni Edgar, Kamikazee, Sponge Cola, Imago, Silent Sanctuary, Kenyo, Paraluman. We are equally committed to bring you exciting international releases covering various genres like pop, jazz, new age, classical, alternative, indie pop, rock, electronica, dance, r&b, and hip-hop. Name it, we definitely have it!

November 13, 2008


Hailing from Stockholm, Sweden, Shout Out Louds' latest album “Our Ill Wills” dives headlong into the new wave influences -- Brit classics like The Cure, The Modern Lovers, The Smiths etc. Produced by Bjorn Yttling (of Peter, Bjorn and John). This band is all about the rush, the emotion, and the infectious melodies that along with youth, good hair, and the endless pursuit of love, make up the foundation of all great pop music. Includes “Tonight I Have to Leave It” and “Impossible".

ICE & SNOW - A Swedish Pop Compilation
Universal Records is proud to announce the release of ICE & SNOW. This PHILIPPINES-ONLY CD Release is a collection of songs from Sweden's finest indie pop acts as compiled by Club 8's Johan Angergard. Featuring new tracks from Club 8, Pelle Carlberg, The Radio Dept., Suburban Kids With Biblical Names as well as songs from The Sound Of Arrows, The Legends, [ingenting], Loveninjas, Sambassadeur, Irene, South Ambulance, The Mary Onettes, Wan Light and Johan Hedberg.

NEW RHODES - Songs From The Lodge

Hailing from Bristol (the spiritual home of indie pop some may say, courtesy of Sarah Records), New Rhodes have released their brilliant debut album "Songs From The Lodge". Drowned In Sound described them as 'one of the finest guitar orientated pop bands this nation has produced since the Smiths'. The band's strong fan base throughout the U.K. and beyond includes many other bands like Bloc Party, The Futureheads, Keane and Blur's Graham Coxon. "Songs From The Lodge" is a mixture of previously released singles, old B-sides and new offerings, produced by Paul Epworth (Bloc Party, Babyshambles, The Rakes, The Long Blondes, The Futureheads) and Ian Grimble (British Sea Power, Manic Street Preachers, Travis). Featuring the singles "I Wish I Was You", "You've Given Me Something That I Can't Give Back", "From The Beginning" and "The History Of Britain".

JUNIOR BOYS - So This Is Goodbye
The Canadian-based duo Junior Boys has emerged with a pop statement that's easily one of the best albums of the year. It's like listening to Underworld's frantic blast combined with the Blue Nile's slowly evolving elegance, the next it could be The Pet Shop Boys' sailing in the slip stream of Depeche Mode, or The Human League's Motown meets the autobahn pop or the electronic vista of OMD. It's a work that exhibits a confident mix of focus, clarity and ambition, which touches such kindred spirits as David Sylvian, Bryan Ferry and Frank Sinatra. Featuring "In The Morning", "The Equalizer", "Count Souvenirs", "So This Is Goodbye", "Like A Child" and "When No One Cares". The deluxe edition of their highly acclaimed sophomore album contains a bonus disc of distinction - the only physical release of their 4-song iTunes studio session from the last tour plus a dizzying array of talents from the world of electronic music who bring their own personal touch to the music of Junior Boys- Carl Craig, Hot Chip, Tensnake, Arp Aubert, Kode 9, Morgan Geist, Alex Smoke, and Marsen Jules.

BONDE DO ROLE - With Lasers
Bonde Do Role unleashed their hotly anticipated debut album "With Lasers". Described in many instances as a "Brazilian Beastie Boys", this riotous MC and DJ three-piece play a carefree mix of old-school rap, electronica and baile funk - the popular fusion of hip-house, Miami bass, and Latin beats that rose to international prominence in recent years. Discovered by genre-crushing DJ/remixer/producer Diplo (M.I.A., CSS, Bloc Party, Spoon, The Decemberists) and signed to respected British label Domino (Franz Ferdinand, Arctic Monkeys), Bonde Do Role are immediately likable, rowdy, rambunctious, and straight to the point. Includes the singles "Solta O Frango", "Office Boy", "Marina Do Bairro" and "Gasolina".

THE LODGER - The Grown-Ups

Hailing from lovely Leeds, Yorkshire, The Lodger has won ears and hearts the world over with a stellar string of singles and compilation appearances, culminating in their classic 7" single "Let Her Go." Grown-Ups could be a collection of fourteen a-sides, including re-recordings of some old favorites and a mountain of new future classics. Instantly recalling bands like The Smiths, The Housemartins and The Wedding Present, The Lodger are a classic English guitar band with a seemingly endless supply of superb tunes, brimming with yearning melodies, smart lyrics and gorgeously strummed guitars. Featuring "Many Thanks For Your Honest Opinion", "Kicking Sand", "Watching", "Let Her Go" and more.

THE LODGER - Life Is Sweet
Leeds-based pop heroes The Lodger return with a stunning sophomore album "Life Is Sweet". The new album is a bit of a throwback. A throwback, specifically, to the British-inspired indie guitar pop of the mid-1980s and early 1990s. The Housemartins, The Go-Betweens, The Wedding Present, The La’s. and The Smiths. Brimming with insistently catchy hooks and sing-along choruses The Lodger bring a classic pop sensibility to their sometimes tender, sometimes bitter take on the ups and downs of life and love. Includes the single "The Good Life".

WILD BEASTS - Limbo Panto
The Leeds based, Kendal born avant-rockers Wild Beasts have created a collection of 10 beautiful, eccentric, very British tales that could be the most unique album you will hear this year. NME listed the Wild Beasts as one of the ten bands "tipped for the top" while The Guardian hailed them as "the most original new band in Britain". Their debut album "Limbo Panto" is produced by Tore Johansson (Franz Ferdinand, The Cardigans, Saint Etienne, New Order, Suede) and features the distinctive vocals of frontman Hayden Thorpe that's somewhere between Kate Bush, Jimmy Sommerville, Antony and The Johnsons' Antony Hegarty, The Associates' Billy Mackenzie and Sparks' Ron Mael. Featuring "Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants", "Vigil For A Fuddy Duddy" and "The Devil's Crayon".

No comments: